Skip to content

Blog 7

November 8, 2012

Navigating and reading through Re-Inventing the Possibilities was quite difficult and interesting at the same time. It was an interesting way to show information because the viewer can click on whatever they want and choose what articles to read. Every viewer has their own unique experience when they read through this article. I thought it was difficult to read through it, since I didn’t know where to start and stop. I chose to navigate through the article by clicking on random letters and reading the articles that I was linked to. The article about New Media Commonplaces was very informative. The article had many examples on commonplaces such as context, element, and emotion. The path I chose to read this article greatly affected the way I learned about commonplaces. I may have easily missed perfect examples of some commonplaces and reading some articles in the wrong order could also affect how I learned about commonplaces.

In Hugh Burns’ video, the primary argument is about how writing has changed. There is interaction between children and an old typewriter that they have no clue how to operate, thus not being able to write on it. Then the children are interacting with a cell phone and it is shown that they are enjoying themselves with it, showing that writing has evolved to the point that writing on a phone, like text messaging, is the primary way of communication. One topoi that Burns invoked well was that of sequence. Burns was the creator of the video, so he intended for the video to have short clips and then cuts to just words on the screen. His choice of order was his own so he invoked sequence. He also used the topoi link. Link is shown because the children immediately show an affinity for the cell phone instead of the typewriter. Inside the element of his video, there are links being created between the objects and the people that was intended by the creator.

Questions

1. Do you agree with Burns that writing is no longer what it used to be? That technology has dominated and writing articles and papers has no place?

2. Did you think that the way Re-Inventing the Possibilities was organized was successful to get the message across? Did you read every article or did you pick and choose, which could lead to missing vital information?

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Hey Queresh,

    I agree that technology has definitely had an impact on writing and that now writing is not as prevalent or common as writing before handmight have been. However i disagree with the notion that technology has replaced writing just because that issimply not true. There are still many instances where writing is beneficial in order to prove a point or captivate an audience. I believe that Reinventing the Possibilities was an article that had an interesting way of getting your point across. I believe by picking and choosing which articles you wanted to read you canget your own message and ideas about commonplace and topoi. Yes while you may miss vital information I also believe that you can get a broad perspective of what is going on with comon place and topoi and thus be able to understand these terms well

  2. Hi Quresh,
    I completely agree with you about the website. It is very interesting website because every reader has his/her own way of reading it. Just like you, I also chose to read through the website by clicking the hyperlinks because I think it is the fastest way to understand those terms as well as get a whole picture of the article. For Hugh Burn’s video, I think there is also a link that connects the world of writing and the children, which suggests the change of the writter and the writing devices deifferences nowadays.

    I don’t agree with Burns’ argument becuase although technology has changed wirting in various way, many people still keep the traditional way of writing such as diary and letter.

    The way Reinventing and Possibilities organized is successful because readers might think it as a new reading experience and have more willing to read the articles. Although I didn’t read though every articles, I got most of the important information by clicking the key term in it.

    Chenrui

  3. I definitely agree with you when you say that the order in which you read the articles of “Re-Inventing the Possibilities” makes a difference in how well you understand it. I also really like your interpretation of Burns’ video. It is interesting to consider whether their misuse of the typewriter indicates that we are moving away from traditional writing, or simply from traditional methods of writing. In response to your questions, I agree and disagree with Burns’ implication that writing has changed. Although there are many new ways to write and modes to use, for example a video like his piece, I think that traditional writing will stick around. I don’t think people will ever want to eliminate the book or other less modern types of writing, we will just continue to learn more about new forms of writing. In my mind, there is no reason to allow technology to dominate over traditional writing; they should simply aid each other.

    In response to your next question, I personally did not find the web text to be successfully organized. Although the layout was not too hard to get the hang of, its appearance and design detracted from its message, and the nonlinear quality could definitely be a turn-off to many readers. I read clicked through the articles much like one would click through a Wikipedia article, clicking on highlighted words rather than the letters on the bottom. This helped me when I was not sure what certain terms meant. In the future I might use the navigation bar instead, because that would probably aid my understanding.

  4. Burns was trying to imply that our the way our younger generation(s) writes is different than it used to be, but I do not think he was trying to say that writing articles and papers has no place. Re-Inventing the Possibilities was organized successfully for some people but not all because people learn and see things differently. I read the webtext linearly, which made me ignore some of the little extra links so I missed some of that information. Maybe ideally, you would read the webtext both ways.

Leave a Reply

